Introducing Measures

We’re back in Ireland, so I was reading some articles online about the economy here. I’ve heard lots of bad news, and the current internet articles are supporting that.

This one about energy provider Bord Gáis caught my eye; I really like the feeling of the article:

It says managing customer debt in difficult economic circumstances will remain a major challenge for the company for some time to come.

Bord Gáis says that last year was difficult for its customers, but despite these difficulties the State-owned energy supplier warns that its prices may increase this year, as wholesale energy prices are a concern.

What I like about it is the expressed concern for their customers. I don’t know if it’s geniune or not, or if it’s just in response to pressure, but I really like statements like “In its annual report for the year, the company says customer debt has serious social implications and it has introduced measures for customers struggling to pay their bills.” Again, whether they are effective or not I’m sure there’s a debate, but just think for a second: that a big energy company, that historically could basically set prices, is “introducing measures” to help struggling customers. I think it’s great.

Anyway, that’s why we’re here too. We’re hoping to help add our ideas to the economy here, so that instead of the scarcity mentality everyone can practice giving. (If you’re interested, Tad Fettig just uploaded a video for us to help promote our talks in Ireland:)

Geshe Michael Roach – Galway, Ireland – Supercharge Your Success

And I think these ideas won’t be much of a stretch here, since even the big energy companies seem concerned about customers who can’t pay their bills and have adopted measures to help them (which I’m guessing they already know, just makes them successful).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Introducing Measures

  1. Cool video! Thanks for sharing it. : )

  2. Peter Axtell says:

    Dear Eric, I for one am holding out for some Ghandi “magic”. I was recently negotiating with Bank of America on a high price (high price for me) short sale. The BofA negotiator said that the numbers looked agreeable except for one thing, the real estate commission. As I was handling both sides of the transaction, that is representing the buyer and seller, the negotiator said he couldn’t get the commission approved at the rate I put down because I was handling both sides. Understand when 2 separate agents are involved the bank pays 5-6 % commission. So they said the deal is dead unless I agree to a 4% commission. I protested to the negotiator who stated he would approve the file at the full commission but the “investor” would refuse to do so. end of discussion. So the net result is the bank neatly extracted nearly $10,000 right out of my livelihood. Why? Because they can and they know I can’t afford to walk away. I protested that they were causing themselves and everyone else harm by the view that the way for the banks to cut their losses is to extract money from Realtors. In my view that continued greed is what got banks into trouble in the first place. You may have noticed that one of the most difficult ways to make a living these days is to be a Realtor. You may have noticed Wells Fargo posting record profits last quarter.
    So in my own small way I’m going to continue to mine my portion of salt (Ghandi), continue to be kind to everyone I can, including Bank of America and it’s employees and hold the only world view that works and that is kindness can topple even Bank of America’s greed, eventually.

    • ericbrinkman says:

      Dear Peter,

      I’m sorry that that happened to you. If no fun to feel forced into something (btw, that’s the seed I would look at for the future), but I do believe you are right. If you don’t fight them, try to help them, wish the best for them, then you’ll either see them change (they’ll notice your kindness and change themselves) or they’ll go out of business and be replaced by someone else more ethical. What would banks do without Realtors? I predict that the bank that treats Realtors more fairly will start showing better finances…

Leave a Reply

